top of page

Start in South Africa


A month in South Africa. It still feels unreal to type this. It has been a crazy 2 months. From packing up in August, saying goodbye and closing off the Belgium chapter of my life to coming here, setting up life here and adjusting to a new style of life.

I have been off social media since i barely had wifi in my first month. Luckily now I have wifi at the house I live so I can send some more updates and stay in touch with everyone. It has been a busy month, getting a new cell number, a bank account, reconnecting with people, and just changing to a new way of living. Also been great being here in the same country as my girlfriend, finally able to invest quality time in our relationship so we can grow together. Still so grateful God gave a amazing women to be my girlfriend in the same country as He has called me to. It was a long wait since getting together and finally moving here. Luckily we already knew I was going to move here, and we just had to wait on God’s timing. She has been a great help for me adjusting to the SA life, and figuring out details of living here.

Next to adjusting to life here I also have been busy starting up ministry activities in Tikwana. I have connected again with Kaytee (who you see on the picture) and has helped him with his soccer practices. He holds these after school for a group of kids and at times they play games in the weekend. I also have been connecting with a group of guys who play basketball at the township. I go there 2 times a week to play with them and build relations. This is already going great, I got the chance to pray for a few of them already, yesterday I got the opportunity to pray for someone with a strong headache and after praying 2 times for him, God healed him from his pain. So praise God for the healing and giving opportunities.

I am looking forward to keep growing these relationships and see how God will use these in developing long lasting strategies to make a change in Tikwana.

Also got the chance already to be at a school with my friend Judeas and lead morning devotion for the school. This was great and I look forward to develop relations with the schools and see what we can do with them.

I also have been going to VCSV, which is the youth group of the high school in Hoopstad. This is led by the pastors wife and it has been great connecting with them. The youth group uses small groups and these groups are led by the seniors so it’s young people leading young people. Next weekend I will join next year seniors for a weekend of training by VCSV. So I’ll get the same training and get a chance to get the know the new seniors better. Pray for a fruitful time while I am doing this.

I also started a mentorship with the pastor of the church. We will meet weekly every Friday for an hour to talk life, the bible and what God is doing. This has been a great time. I also joined 2 groups from church, one is a weekly prayer group, other one is a weekly bible study group for Men. This helps me to develop my Afrikaans but also deepens my relationship with God.

Please pray for wisdom in developing ministry and choosing the right strategies and opportunities.

Pray for a good car, I am in the process of buying a car and its becoming more urgent each day since the car I am driving now is driving on Grace.

Thank you for all the messages and support. It ment a lot to feel so loved in Belgium and to continue to feel the love while I am in South Africa.

God Bless you all


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Er zijn nog geen tags.
bottom of page