top of page

2018

Amazing how this year started, such an exciting times planning for ministry, connecting with people and this is how time just flew by.

I am so excited to keep ministry going here in Hoopstad. I have to be patient and build one small step at a time but I am very grateful for the different ministry opportunities here. I want to give a short oversight about the different ministry activities I'm involved in.

In Tikwana we keep building slowly on a good foundation to start our sport academy for kids here. I am busy talking to schools and people in key positions like the mayor trying to get a good network. I have a vision for Soccer and Basketball here in Tikwana.

For Basketball we have taken the first steps in our vision. we continue to build our team. We have a core of 10 players we regularly come to the

practices, which I lead. There we also talk about life and values, and build friendships. Skill level wise we are growing every practice, we started from the bottom but they are committed to grow. We are busy trying to get money to buy metal to build our own basketball goals so hopefully soon we can practice on real goals, instead of netbal goals. Next step for us would be to invite teams from other towns to come and play games and we hope also to start a youth team where some of the adult players would help coach the young kids and in this way give back to the community.

With Soccer we are at the moment staying at the level that we are, practices still happen and kids are excited but at the moment we need to find a head coach for soccer first. Our current coach is to busy to commit to give practice every day. So I'm talking to people in the community and going to schools to build relationships and find a second coach to help carry the load. Then we are talking to the city to gain acces to the main soccer field in the township. Cause of financial reasons we can't pay for renting it, but we hope as a community service that the town will open it up for this project.

The vision is to work together with the schools, select players through tryouts there. The selected players will be picked up from school, where they can stay longer and get extra classes. Afterwards they will get practice and biblestudy at the sports fields of the township. I hope this gives a good image of the vision for using sports in the township. Please pray for an extra coach, God opening doors and grant acces to the sports fields, and that we can build good relationships in our different teams, in the community and schools.

Besides working in the township, I'm also busy reaching out to the youth in Hoopstad. I'm involved in the school youth group for age 13-18. The church has asked to help lead this. Which has given me acces to the opening weekend, where i was able to talk to them in the closing session. But i also lead the "kringleiers" these are 9 committed young people from the school, who decided they don't want to just come to the youthgroup but also lead. They lead the small groups during the youthgroup. It's a wonderfull time to meet with these kringleiers once a week, and prepare them to lead their groups. They have a big heart to serve and help their fellow students. And I'm excited to see them grow. This is a first step to be able to make a difference with the Afrikaner youth. My goal has always been to use sports to invest in Tikwana youth but also to be involved in the youth activaties in Hoopstad. Please pray for God to guide me and help me build relationships with the youth in Hoopstad.

Thank you for all your prayers and for reading my updates.

It's a busy time with a lot happening and I'm excited to see how the youth grows and how God will use me.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Er zijn nog geen tags.
bottom of page